Meanderings of a Minister


What Stirs Your Heart?
March 10, 2016, 5:20 pm
Filed under: Articles | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16780a_Heart-Bowl-Engraved-Ladle

Earlier this week, we listened as our very own Liberal High School Redskins played in the state basketball tournament.  They played a great game and came just a mere few points from winning the contest to make it to the medal rounds of the tournament.  As I listened to the game on the radio, I heard as the crowd seemed really into the game.  Our Liberal crowd outnumbered the home team.  I am pretty sure we out-cheered them as well.

This morning, I was reading my Bible and came across the following verse:

Everyone whose heart stirred him and everyone whose spirit moved him came and brought the Lord’s contribution for the work of the tent of meeting and for all its service and for the holy garments.” (Exodus 35:21, NASB95)

As I read this verse, I noticed what this had to say about Moses and the Israelites in the wilderness.  It says that their hearts stirred to be able to participate with God and contribute to the building of the Tabernacle, also called the Tent of Meeting.

As I thought about this reality, the following thoughts came to mind.  First, this incident happened after the incident with the Golden Calf.  God had told them they had sinned by worshipping another “god”.  The people had struggled with not being able to see the God they worshipped and so they built a “god” they could look at, touch, and handle.  God told them that they should worship no other “god” before the One, True, Living God.  On top of that, God allowed them to build a Tabernacle so that they would have a place to visit Him, worship, offer sacrifices, come to hear from God, etc.

Next, God told them to bring items for the building of the Tabernacle, but only if their hearts were stirred with the forgiveness they had been offered, the presence of God in their midst, and His position as their Lord.  How did the people react?  Their hearts were stirred and they gave.  And, boy, did they give!  They gave so much that Moses had to issue a directive for the people to stop giving because they had way more than they needed.

And all the skillful men who were performing all the work of the sanctuary came, each from the work which he was performing, and they said to Moses, “The people are bringing much more than enough for the construction work which the Lord commanded us to perform.” So Moses issued a command, and a proclamation was circulated throughout the camp, saying, “Let no man or woman any longer perform work for the contributions of the sanctuary.” Thus the people were restrained from bringing any more. For the material they had was sufficient and more than enough for all the work, to perform it.” (Exodus 36:4–7, NASB95)

They gave until there was too much!  That is amazing!

As I thought about this reality in light of my experience with the basketball game, I wondered, “What stirs my heart?”  What really stirs my heart?  Do I really believe that my church serves God?  Does that stir my heart enough to help, to cheer them on, to give to make sure they have what they need to do the ministry God has called them to?  Do I really believe that my church is doing the work of God’s ministry?  Is my heart stirred to join with them in doing that ministry?  Am I fanned into flame to see that I contribute to the work personally, familially, gift-wise, time-wise, or any other way?  If not, why not?  Does it mean that there is something wrong with them?  Is there something wrong with me?  What is going on?

I guess that my prayer has to be, “God, help my heart to be stirred by the things that stir Yours.  Help me to enjoy the amusements of life, but help me to more enjoy musing on the things of You.”  What stirs your heart?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

