Meanderings of a Minister


Have You Ever …
December 5, 2013, 2:46 pm
Filed under: Articles | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Shawn MacDonald

Years ago Sean MacDonald released a song with the title, “Have You Ever?”  The lyrics of the song say,

Have you ever wanted to be someone else?
And have you ever wanted just to be someone?
And have you ever wanted to reach your dreams?
And have you ever wanted life to be more than it seems?

 And I have tasted of a love so wide that it stops all my time
And I have tasted of a love so deep that it blows my mind
And have you ever wanted to reach up and touch the sky

And have you ever wanted to pack it up and say good-bye
And have you ever wanted someone to care
And have you ever wanted someone to be there

And I have tasted of a love so wide that it stops all my time
And I have tasted of a love so deep that it blows my mind

 Yes He is sweet, yes He is sweet

What you’re looking for is my sweet, sweet Jesus
He is sweet, he is sweet[1]

© Warner/Chappell Music, Inc., EMI Music Publishing

 As I think about the lyrics of this song, and look out of my office windows at the falling snow, I am left with some questions as well:

  •  If Jesus is so sweet, then why do I chase so many other things?
  • If His love is so amazing, why do I look for others to fulfill me?
  • If He died for me, why do I find it so hard to live for Him?
  • If the Manger was to lead to the Cross, then why do I try so hard not to have to suffer?
  • If Jesus is known for His Holiness, why do only want happiness?
  • If Christmas is about Jesus, why do I find that I have time for everything else, but Him?
  • If I have been declared clean by a Holy God, then why do I struggle to live clean?

 During this Christmas Season, I need to take time to figure some of these things out.  How about you?

 Have you ever wanted…?


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

