Meanderings of a Minister


No Sweat
October 10, 2013, 9:42 pm
Filed under: Articles | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No Sweat

This morning, as I was reading my Bible, I ran across a passage that I had read many times, but for some reason, it hit me like a ton of bricks.  Before I share that passage with you, allow me to set the stage.

I have been struggling with some things for a while.  One of those things is that I serve a fantastic group of people at my church.  They are passionate for the Lord and do a great job of sharing their excitement for the Lord with others.  As a result, the church has grown tremendously in the last several years.  We have more than tripled in that time.  With any rapid growth there comes growing pains.  We have struggled to keep up with developing leaders and have had many of our leaders move away due to retirement, employment, or other such nonsense. 

For the last couple of years, I have asked myself if I am the person to lead this church because of the leadership development issue.  I am not a “Big Church” kind of pastor.  I don’t wear suits, bleach my teeth, have a personal assistant, or a research staff, and I have not written a bunch of bestselling books.  All I really know how to do is preach the Word, serve the community, and look for opportunities God sends my way. 

That is the background for my time with the Lord yesterday.  As I read, I came across the story of Abraham being called to sacrifice Isaac, his only son.  When Isaac asks Abraham about the sacrifice, he says, “My father!”.  He then asks, “Behold, the fire and the wood, but where is the lamb for the burnt offering?”  Abraham answered and said, “God will provide for Himself the lamb for the burnt offering, my son.”  What did Abraham mean by this and how did God use that to speak to me in my reading?  Both are great questions!

First, Abraham believed that God would provide because, if he killed the child, God had provided him.  If he is not called to kill the child, which he isn’t, God would provide the lamb, which he did via a ram caught in a thicket.  Either way, God would provide.

Using this same thought pattern, I realized that if I continue to serve my church, which I fully intend to do and want to do, then God will provide what I need to serve.  If God calls me somewhere else, God will provide what I need to serve.  When God calls someone to serve Him, He is the one that provides the tools, resources, and even breath, so that the person can carry out that to which God has called them.  So…don’t sweat it!  God has called me and He will continue to grow me to be the leader, pastor and man He wants of me.  He will do the same for you.  No sweat!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

