Meanderings of a Minister


What Are You Thankful For?
August 29, 2013, 9:31 pm
Filed under: Articles | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

thank-you-coloring-page

Just this morning, I was reading in Philippians 1 where Paul wrote,

“I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always offering prayer with joy in my every prayer for you all, in view of your participation in the gospel from the first day until now. For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus. For it is only right for me to feel this way about you all, because I have you in my heart, since both in my imprisonment and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel, you all are partakers of grace with me. For God is my witness, how I long for you all with the affection of Christ Jesus. And this I pray, that your love may abound still more and more in real knowledge and all discernment, so that you may approve the things that are excellent, in order to be sincere and blameless until the day of Christ; having been filled with the fruit of righteousness which comes through Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.”[1]

As I was reading this, I began to think about all of the wonderful people that I serve with at my church, in my community, and around the world.  I have an amazing worship pastor that has been a breath of fresh air at our church.  In addition to providing a rich worship atmosphere that leads our hearts and prepares them to receive God’s Word, he is also a great friend and a helpmate in ministry.  I have an equally amazing youth pastor that is a credit to our church and the Kingdom of God as he interacts with youth from the area and can be counted on to help in any way needed.  I have a ministry assistant that many people would simply call a church secretary.  Mine is much more than that. She loves the Lord and the Lord’s work and readily works in many ministries of the church as well as plugging in to anything needed.   The list goes on and on.  Our Preschool Coordinator is top notch.  Our children’s ministry coordinator is an example of professionalism, care, concern, and planning.  Our custodians serve with the heart of Christ.  Our librarian cares deeply about the souls of those that use and need to use our library.  Our building and grounds caretaker can always be counted on to help us communicate our love for God through a top notch appearance of our grounds and building.  That doesn’t include our deacons, Sunday school teachers, choir members, instrumentalists, AWANA workers, Family Builders team, Ladies Legacy team, men’s ministry team, and many others.

Enough of what I am blessed with.  Who has God put in your life for whom you could pray that same prayers that Paul prayed for the Philippians?  In October, we will observe Pastor Appreciation Month again, but why not take the opportunity to spend September thanking God and others for those that partner with you in your church, community, and family?  Why not take the time to write a note of encouragement telling them what they mean to you and how they have touched your life?  Why not take the time to pray for them and then share with them?  Why not take them by a meal or a book that has helped you grow?  Why not take the time to invest in partnering with them in ministry?

Who knows?  By thinking through those that have impacted you, and having decided in your heart that you will express your gratitude to them, you just might find that you made someone else’s list and are thanked by them.  Wouldn’t that be cool? 

Have a great weekend and…go to church on Sunday.


[1] New American Standard Bible: 1995 Update. LaHabra, CA: The Lockman Foundation, 1995.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

