Meanderings of a Minister


Who Are You Following?
February 15, 2013, 7:21 pm
Filed under: Articles | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

leading

I know this title has been used before in this very article, but it bears thinking on periodically. I was reading my Bible this morning (imagine that!). I was reading Proverbs 30:5-6 where the Authorized Version of the Bible reads this way:

Col imraht el loah tserupha mah gain who lahosim boh al toeschah al debarahn pen yocheeach bekkah venickzahvtah

Okay, perhaps we had better use a more modern translation to understand it better! Here is how the New American Standard Version renders the verses:

“Every word of God is tested; He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him. Do not add to His words Or He will reprove you, and you will be proved a liar. “

As I read this passage, I was struck with a few thoughts that made it into my journal for the day and into my prayers this morning. Perhaps I would just copy it here:

“Lord, I thank You for Your Word and the way that It is timely to teach, train, and temper exactly the temptation and the tempter. When I meet with people for counseling, I want to make sure I represent Your Word faithfully and that I explain and apply Your Word accurately. When I preach, in the church and outside of it, I want to make sure that I am able to know that I have presented Your Word accurately and have not shortchanged You or It because of a desire to be liked or accepted. When I preach a funeral for a family with no knowledge of You, or relationship with You, I want to be sensitive to their needs, but more than that, I want to be faithful to You. When I am at home, I want to follow You. When I am in my own thoughts, I want to represent You well. No matter what I am doing, may Your Word always be the lamp to my feet and the light to my path. And may I be able to see it clearly and plainly so that I can point others to Your Light as well.”

Is this your heart’s cry as well? Is this the cry of your pastor, minister, elder, or priest’s heart? If so, learn from them. Watch them. Imitate them. Follow them. Respect them. Help them. If not, be very careful to make sure that you only follow them in the ways that they are following Christ. In fact, you might want to think about going to church somewhere else, if the pastor’s heart is not to follow Christ, because of the influence they might have over you.

I have been blessed to have had some great examples in coming up through the church. I am blessed to be able to serve alongside pastors in the Liberal Ministerial Alliance. Some of them are great examples to me as well. I hope that I can be to others and return the favor. So…who are you following? Or maybe, whose following you? And what are they learning?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

