Meanderings of a Minister


One Month Down…
January 31, 2013, 4:19 pm
Filed under: Articles | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

February

As I write this article, I am mindful that you, the reader, will read it on the first day of February.  Really?!  Where did January go?  Okay, I will be honest.  Where did the last year go?  The last decade?  The last few decades since High School?

When I was younger, my grandparents always told me that time would seem to move faster as I got older.  I don’t understand how it works, but I am convinced they were right.  On top of their prediction is the fact that technology seems to be moving us along faster and faster.  It seems that things we thought were only a possibility a few years ago are now the past technologies of last year.

As I contemplate the seemingly increasing pace of life, I am more and more being challenged to think about what is truly important.  For instance, I have been thinking about saving for retirement.  Okay, so I probably will never get to retire, but I would still like to have something to pass on to my children or grandchildren (besides unpaid bills).  I have also been thinking about my relationship with my wife.  There will come a day when we are all we will have and I need to make sure that I know her and she knows me well enough for that to be enough.  I have also been thinking about the fact that I had better be thinking about what comes next more and more.  I need to make sure that I am growing in my relationship with Christ so that meeting Him will be the natural extension of a life lived for Him.

When thinking about these priorities, I am challenged to think about what I have done this last month to move towards those goals.  I need to think more about these things than about who will win the Super Bowl, how big a loser someone is, who will be the next idol or even how the next episode of my favorite mystery went.  I need to make time for the things that I say matter to me.  I need to make sure that my walk matches my claims that Jesus is Lord of my life.

How about you?  Do you find yourself with good intentions of the Christian life, but never following through on those intentions?  Do you find Bible verses like those in Psalm 1 about delighting in the Lord and meditating on His Word convicting, but never turn that into action?  How about setting some goals to begin.  It has been a month into the new year already, but it is not too late to start.

Remember, Paul said, “Do you not know that when you present yourselves to someone as slaves for obedience, you are slaves of the one whom you obey, either of sin resulting in death, or of obedience resulting in righteousness? “  (Romans 6:16, NASB, 1995 Update)  Who are you going to serve and when are you going to begin?

You already have.

Welcome to 2013.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

