Meanderings of a Minister


A Leadership Book Leading the Way for Leaders Without Misleading
June 1, 2011, 2:18 am
Filed under: Book Review

I don’t know about you, but I read a lot and, at times, I get the feeling that many authors have simply not lived where I live.  They have large churches with large congregations and large budgets and have large amounts of charisma and are “superleaders”.  When I read their books, I come away with more of a sense of failure and falling short than I did before I started.  For this reason, I have to make my self read books by famous leaders on their “secrets” to leadership.

Having said all of that, I am glad that I still take the time to read them.  I brace myself for all of the unrealistic suggestions.  I come with the excuses of why I can’t do what they do.  I come with a sense of impending doom, but I read them anyway hoping I can learn and grow, if even just a little.  I am glad I do this because I would not have read “In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day” by Mark Batterson if I didn’t.

In A Pit is a real-life, down to earth, helpful and biblical look at a figure of the Bible most of us have glazed over in attempts to read the Bible through from cover to cover.  Benaiah, son of Jehoida, one of David’s mighty men, is listed as having killed two Moabite warriors on a battlefield, a giant in hand-to-hand combat, and a lion in a pit on a snowy day.  Using a baptized imagination, Batterson challenges all leaders and men to face our fears, name them and don’t let either the name or the sight make us run for cover.  In a raw and honest admission, Batterson admits to being afraid, frsustrated, angry and afraid (yes, I listed that one twice!).  After the initial shock that an internationally known author on leadership would admit fear and make it okay to experience, I read on to find he actually had some practical steps even I could take!

He talked reframing our challenges or, put plainly, seeing what isn’t there as much as what is.  Often, it is that which is not there that paralyzes us into inaction.  He tells us to just realize and live with the fact that things are not always going to go the way you want them to.  (That’s right!  A leadership book that admits you just can’t lead and make some things happen!)  Realizing this, we can choose to die by playing it safe or we can grab a hold of the beast and hang on for the ride of a lifetime.  This is living!  Will we fail?  Sometimes.  Will we detour?  Sometimes.  Will thing fall apart?  Sometimes.  But we will have learned more about the One that has every under control in the process.  Will we look foolish?  Sometimes.  (But some of us will always do that anyway.)  Will we live?  Until the day God already knew we would die!  Why not take the risks and maybe see some victories instead of simply breathing ourselves to death?

I would recommend this book, but admit I might not have spent the $13.99 it costs (although you can get it cheaper) because I was afraid it was just another guilt trip in the making.  Blogging for Books gave me the book and now I find that I would have bought it and valued it much more than the money it costs!  I highly recommend this book to any leader or liver for Jesus!

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

