Meanderings of a Minister


Preparations
December 10, 2010, 9:53 pm
Filed under: Articles

Courtesy of Andrew Dlugan of Six Minute Speaking and Presentation Skills

If you have read the paper lately, you may have seen that my daughter is getting married the day after Christmas.  With her wedding looming closer and closer, it seems that there are more and more preparations that need to be worked out.  There was the dress…check!  There was the church…check (duh!)!  There was the cake…check (her grandmother is a cake decorator)!  There was the groom…check!  There were the tuxedoes…check!  There were bridesmaid dresses…check!  On and on the arrangements go.  On top of that, there is finances, reception, honeymoon, home, relocation, in-laws, next college semester, etc.

As you can tell, there are lots of preparations that need to be made, but what you might not know is that, even though I am going to perform the ceremony, there is not a lot I am doing or have to do get ready.  Yes, I have to prepare the service, the message, prayers, who stands where, etc., but this is nothing compared to the rest of the preparations going on.

As I reflect on this wedding fast approaching, it dawns on me that our preparations for Christmas are much like this.  Come to think of it…our preparations for church each week are a lot like this.  Some people spend a lot of time and effort to get ready and to be ready and make sure that they have what they need to worship, to give gifts to family and friends, to celebrate the savior and to host all of the parties, etc.  For others, Christmas, and church each week, are just another day or another activity and aren’t really prepared for much at all.  While some spend time preparing their hearts, others just cruise through the time prior to the events with little thought about what they are going to do or celebrate.

As I have thought about this, it has also caused me to think about how I prepare for worship and how I prepare for the Christmas season.  Do I spend time praying for God to prepare my heart, or do I just go about business as usual?  Do I read my Bible and ask God to use it as a microscope over my heart and life, or do I just go through the motions?  Do I anticipate anything happening in me or in others, or do I just hope to get out on time so I can get to the buffet before other churches?  Am I listening, or just checking the block?

This Christmas season, let’s be like the Magi, that spent time searching the heavens and looking expectantly for a sign that God was about to do something incredibly awesome in their midst and in their world.  Let’s anticipate God showing up, showing out and showing off.  Let’s expect God to touch lives and hearts much more than just our gifts, parties and foods.  Let’s look at the Christmas story with new eyes and new expectation and let’s look forward to looking back and seeing God’s faithfulness.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

